MCCH honors volunteers

The many volunteers of Murray-Calloway County Hospital were recognized and thanked for their 8,286 hours of service to MCCH in 2017 during the annual MCCH Volunteer Banquet Wednesday, April 18, 2018, at First Presbyterian Church.  

The theme of the banquet was Strawberries “Thank You Berry Much.” After a welcome by Jerry Penner, CEO, and invocation by Keith Travis, VP of Development, banquet attendees enjoyed a luncheon. John Wilson, Chief Operating Officer, and Steve Owens, chair of the MCCH Board of Trustees, then gave expressions of appreciation before awards were handed out by Hillary Sharp, Human Resources, and JoAnna Thomas, Activities Director at Spring Creek.

The MCCH Auxiliary was formally begun in August of 1981 to serve as a volunteer organization to support MCCH. Auxiliary members donated their time and money to the hospital and its mission of providing health care to the community. Since 1981, volunteers have donated more than 90,000 total hours to MCCH.

Hospice volunteers recognized included: Erin Calvert, Mayuree Chetawatee, Kendal Crawley, Cynthia Elliott, Stella Franklin, Matt Imes, Loretta Jobs, Deborah Knight, Doug Mullins, Wanda Mullins, Sharon Myatt, Mary Jane Roberson, Peggy Smith, Lloyd Weatherly, Jerry Williams, and Pam Williams.

Three special awards were handed out: Most Lifetime Hours, Walter Bradtke, 3,178 hours and Most Hours for the Past Year, Lloyd Weatherly, 828.50.

Volunteers were recognized for their total number of hours accumulated in their lifetime of service to MCCH (recognized by every 100 hours volunteered). Other volunteers include: 3,100 hours; Walter Bradtke, 2,800, Sue Webb, Jerry Hicks, 2,700 hours; Carolyn Paschall, 2,500; Jean Watkins, 2,300; Janet Fitch and Kathy Mowery, 2,200; Betty Hassell, 2,100, Marion Bradtke, 2,000; Janet Nichols and Barbara Williams, 1,900; Barbara Shade, 1,800; Lloyd Weatherly, 1,100; Violet Unruh, 800; Ruth Coe and Ruth Daughaday, 700; Donna Whitfield, Annie Litwiller, and Davanna Woods, 600, Mary Jane Roberson, 500; Pam Williams, 400; Sandra Hakos, 300, Sylvia James and Wanda Mullins, 200, Cynthia Elliott, Deborah Knight, Sharon Myatt, 100, Erin Calvert, Mayuree Chetawatee, Kenda Crawley, Walter Dearie, Stella Franklin, Martha Gardner, Matt Imes, Loretta Jobs, and Peggy Smith, 0-99 hours.

Additional volunteer’s not recording hours were also recognized: Donna Alexander, Joyce Herndon, Doug Mullins, Gloria Shull, Stewart Shull, Jim Stahler, Judy Stahler, Marie Taylor, and Oneida White.

For more information on volunteering opportunities at MCCH, please call Hillary Sharp at 270-

01- Pictured are many of the volunteers of Murray-Calloway County Hospital representing more than 98,000 lifetime hours of volunteer time.
02- Pictured are several volunteers at Spring Creek Healthcare who were recognized during the banquet.
03- Pictured are Hospice volunteers who were recognized during the banquet.

MCCH Volunteers

MCCH Volunteers